This project is read-only.

how do you implement Auditing in custom module

Dec 7, 2011 at 4:21 PM

Hi,

Sorry I'm new to Orchard and am trying to build some auditing into my application, i have generated my own module which contains my own views and controllers (similar to Hello World module), so i am only using orchard as a landing cms to deal with the adminstration of the site, so sorry for not knowing it inside out currently.

My question is :- Is it possible to give me an example of how this product is implemented into a module i am building, i want to keep the auditing generic for the site but save my model per view into your data field (i was thinking of serializing it) so my auditing page could display whatever i wanted to specific to my model, is this something you have done, if so any advice would be great

Thanks

Coordinator
Dec 7, 2011 at 4:39 PM

Hi, yes the auditing module is set up to be completely generic, you can audit any type of events you like.

There are two ways to do it: You can either make a direct call to IAuditService, and add an audit by hand.

Or, you can hook into Orchard's Rules framework (in 1.3+) to have increased flexibility in what events you audit (and that means you can assign additional actions to perform on those events, and it lets you use the tokens system to record extra audit data).

By default, you can have events trigger for content events like view, edit, delete, etc. But if you're using MVC views, rather than Orchard's Content Management pipeline, then you'd need to fire your own events, but you can do so from anywhere.

To see how Audit hooks into Rules, first look at: Downplay.Audit\Rules\ContentEvents.cs

That's where the "View" event is defined (the publish/edit/delete events are already built into Orchard.Core.Content.Rules)